Urban Shocker’s Weblog
Dominican Beisbol & Baltimore Orioles Baseball News

ORIOLES boast .648 winning percentage on my birthday!

Maybe I should keep this one to myself. Why mess with a good thing? But I’ve just got to let somebody know about the Orioles .648 winning percentage on my birthday. I may be old by baseball standards, but my mind is young enough to know what 24-13 over any stretch is good for any ballclub.

It all started with a 3-2 loss to the Yankees the day I was born. Baltimore never won on my special day until I turned three (a 1-0 classic in the Bronx), but they went 24-9 (.727 !)the next 33 years!

I’m pretty sure my parents to me to more than one birthday game, but the only one(s) I remember for sure came in 1978. That Saturday twi-nite doubleheader, the Orioles romped 10-4 in the opener behind a complete game performance by Dennis “El Presidente” Martinez and a pair of home runs by Andres Mora. My childhood hero, Ken Singelton, also went deep; one of six total long balls blasted in the contest.

In the nightcap, the O’s got an unearned run in the bottom of the first, and fringe major leaguer Dave Ford made it hold up by pitching into the ninth for a 1-0 victory. My main memory of that day is an autographed baseball my grandfather scored from the Orioles bullpen by slipping a twenty to an usher. Apparently, Jim Palmer was in the pen to throw between starts, but got up to get loose just as the ball was coming to him for signature. Oh well!

Of all the birthdays I wish I’d be paying attention for, my fourth one (in 1974) tops that list. That year, the Orioles swept a home twinbill from the Boston Red Sox –each game by a 1-0 score! That made three straight 1-0 wins on my birthday following 1973’s victory by that margin up in the Bronx.

Overall, six of the 37 Orioles games played on my birthday have ended up 1-0. Fitting since I love good pitching. The only one Baltimore lost was to Seattle and Joel Piniero in 2001.

Tonight I’m just hoping for a win of any kind. The Birds are in Boston for the second straight year, where they’re 1-2 on September 2nd since the year I was born. Time to even the score, and improve on that .648 winning percentage! Go O’s…

No Responses to “ORIOLES boast .648 winning percentage on my birthday!”

Leave a Reply

